Using Multiple Google Services? Keep Your Privacy More Secure While Using Chrome

If you use any other Google services (Gmail, YouTube or Google Maps) while on Chrome, a recent update to the web browser can pose a privacy risk to you. Google will now automatically sign you into Chrome using your credentials from these other Google services. This also means that your data will automatically be sent to Google’s servers.

However, this recent update to Chrome allows you to opt out of this automatic sign-in and protect your privacy, if you so choose.

To opt out:

  1. Make sure you have Chrome version 70 or higher (under About Google Chrome)
  2. Open Settings
  3. Scroll down and select Advanced
  4. Disable Allow Chrome sign-in (the slider should turn gray)
  5. Close and relaunch Chrome

 

If you have a story about your experiences with Chrome's privacy settings, please share it with us!